The Circle of Life

Standard

tmi alert

Yesterday I had my period for the first time in a year.
Quite literally.

My last period was last September, the month before Tay was conceived.
I figured this would happen soon since I stopped breast feeding after we arrived in America at the beginning of the month. I felt all the signs and it was very strange. Kind of like starting up a car that’s been sitting in a garage for a bit too long. Everything in working order, but kind of slow and foreign to me.

And in a way it felt like the true end of the pregnancy. I mean, obviously the baby was the end of the pregnancy, duh, but it was the completion and restart of my body’s cycle I suppose you could say.

One year later and my body is nearly like it was before hosting life.

Give or take 30 pounds and a nearly 3 month old baby.

Don’t even get me started on my 3 month “you’re now officially no longer an infant” post. I have no idea how emotional that one’s going to make me.

4 responses »

  1. I had Implanon implanted at the hospital, so I’m not expecting my period anytime soon.

    Three things I don’t like about breastfeeding are the uneven burden on the mother, the constant worry about supply, and the inability to go for more than a few hours without pumping/feeding.

    So congratulations on your newfound freedom.

  2. I can’t believe he’s three months already! Yes, that first period is something of a milestone.

    Got it back within a month after the first one (due to no breastfeeding) and nearly two years after the second one (due to breastfeeding). Yes, it was very strange both times.

Leave a Reply

