Du Pain, du Vin, du Boursin

Standard

If you don’t know where the title comes from, just click ici (see, I do know some French).

Anyway, Piet and I got back from Paris yesterday and we had a very nice time. We stayed in the La Maison Montparnasse, which was small, but clean and comfortable for the price. It was kind of a whirlwind trip as we tried to see as much as we could in two days, but in the end we still managed to relax in the Jardin du Luxembourg with our pain, vin and boursin (bread, wine and boursin cheese) before heading back to Belgium.

Over the two days we saw:

The Eiffel Tower, which I really would’ve been fine just looking at but Piet felt since it might be the only time we were there that it’d be better if we were actually on it. I will not elaborate beyond the fact that I still would’ve been fine just looking at it.

Notre Dame Cathedral, which was what I really wanted to see and was thrilled with. It was beautiful, we saw it in the daytime and also at sunset and I just want a huge canvass photo of it on the wall.

Rodin Museum, this one Piet really wanted to see, although I ended up really liking it as well. The pieces were all very interesting and the garden on the museum ground was beautiful.

The Pantheon, home not only to Foucault’s Pendulum, but also to the remains of renowned French citizens. It’s a massive, beautiful building and we were able to view the final resting places of Marie Curie, Victor Hugo and Alexandre Dumas, amongst many others.

The Jardin du Luxembourg, St. Germain Des-Prés, and the Museum of Jewish Art and History were other stops we made along the way.

All in all, it was a lovely little trip and I can finally say that I’ve been to Paris.

If you want to see the whole album, you can click on over to my Picasa.

6 responses »

  1. I can completely relate to your comments on the Eiffel Tower, and I absolutely love the Rodin museum. I think you and Piet picked wonderful places to “taste” Paris. I really hope that it is NOT your main chance to be there, though – one should have many times in Paris, if possible. 😉

  2. Paris is so close, I’m sure you’ll make it back there (ok…in all honesty I only get there at a rate of once per decade too :p) . I’ve never climbed up the Eifel tower either.

    I love the last picture

  3. We went to Paris for a week last year and it was not enough! Absolutely gorgeous! I loved Musee d’Orsay the most, more for the actual building than the art, although the impressionists were breathtaking. And funny that you should put Marie Curie as first on your list of famous French citizens when she was actually Polish, which of course makes me so proud:-) And the first woman to be buried at the Pantheon, feeling even better now:-) Anyway, glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

