You’ve Got Mail

Standard

Over the past few years the number of packages  I receive from the U.S. has diminished.

It’s expensive for my parents (and us too if customs decides to open and tax it) and there’s very little that I miss enough to warrant trans-Atlantic postage. So you can imagine my glee when the first (of three!) arrived here on Monday.

And if you could imagine the glee, perhaps you can also imagine the giddiness when I discovered a happy little box filled with Halloween candy goodness inside! See, my mom may not know my taste in veggies whatsoever, but she does know my junk food indulgences. along with the Pumpkin Spice flavored Hershey Kisses I requested (yes, they’re making pumpkin spice ones now, I heard about them on Facebook and they’re actually pretty good), my mom also sent the following items:


Halloween Oreos, which come complete with scarily orange cream filling and I’m overjoyed about because it’s nearly impossible to find Oreos here and when you do, it’s a box of 6 regular old Oreos and they cost as much as this package of 32 probably did. I’m actually a Hydrox girl, but since those apparently no longer exist, Oreos are what I want when I’m in a cookie mood.
Which sucks when you live in a country that doesn’t really have them. Or anything even remotely similar.

Mmmm, sweet, oddly colored goodness.

Along with the Oreos, my wonderful mother also sent a six pack of Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins. Which is really just a way of legitimizing the consumption of a pumpkin-shaped chunk of sweetened peanut butter.

I so love peanut butter. And if you think Oreos are hard to find here? don’t even try with the peanut butter. Occasionally I find a dust covered jar of Dutch peanut butter but I don’t even dignify that with a second glance. So yeah, this particular item? Pure win, my friends.

Along with those two treasures came the requested pumpkin spice kisses, which I recommend trying if you’re in the U.S. and have a target in your neighborhood.

I actually took half the bag to work so as not to have too much sugar in the house and my health-nut colleague was quickly addicted and asked me to hide them from her.

I’ve been very well behaved so far, only eating the serving size once a day or less, although with the first two things it’s tough. In fact, taking pictures of everything tonight was enough to make me have an Oreo and a few kisses when I wasn’t planning on any tonight.

But I did the right thing, shared some with my husband and father-in-law, and then dutiful came upstairs to blog about my little care package and the Halloween themed happiness that is sitting in the kitchen cupboard.

Yummy.

3 responses »

  1. No clue what the situation in Ghent is like but here in Brussels you can find peanut butter in several super markets. You even have the choice between crunchy or smooth.
    For Oreos it goes the same.
    Though the joy of buying the stuff yourself is not the same as receiving it in a package.

  2. Lucky you! I’ve never received a care package 😦

    Lapuce is right, they have peanut butter at Carrefour (the big ones), creamy and chunky, although not being an expert, don’t know if it’s close to the real thing. They also have it at Colruyt, but it’s not really as good as the Carrefour one. Like you, I have seen Oreos here and there (in small packages), but they’re pretty easy to find in Germany (if you ever go there).

    This is the perfect post to tell you this, I heard from someone that there’s an American Shop in Kortrijk (Doorniksestraat(Kor) 59, close to the station). Unfortunately I’ve never been there so I don’t know how good it is, although rumor says they have maple syrup and other hard-to-find delicacies.

Leave a Reply

