A Souvenir From Tenerife

Standard

It’s been several months since we got back from Tenerife.

My tan has faded and the memories of sun, saltwater and seafood have been buried under snow, sleet and sniffles.
But there’s one thing we brought back from Tenerife that I haven’t told you about yet. I wanted to but Piet and I thought it prudent to wait for the right time. And I think that’s right about now.

Here is the most perfect souvenir from Tenerife we could’ve asked for:

October 22, 2010

We found out about a week after we got back from the honeymoon:

December 21 at 13 weeks

And decided to wait at least 3 months to tell anyone outside of close family and coworkers.

Which doesn’t mean I haven’t put pen to paper (fingers to keyboard?) in all that time. I’ve accumulated several posts entitled “Baby Backlog” in my draft folder. They’re sitting there, waiting for me to hit publish whenever I’m short on the time or energy to blog (which is frequent now, especially the energy part).

So…there you have it. and now that the proverbial cat is out of the bag, I can’t wait to keep you up to date on our newest, and so far, greatest adventure.

11 responses »

  1. Congratulations. Getting pregnant on your honeymoon? That’s unbelievable. You two are the luckiest couple in the world. So glad that the scan went well and you can now announce the news.

  2. Congratulations! Giving birth in Belgium was an excellent experience for me – they really care well for the Mamas and babies here. Let me know if I can answer any questions for you about it. Do you know yet if it’s a boy or a girl?

  3. We also brought the same kind of souvenir from our honeymoon in Tenerife back home!
    I really hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! She’s nearly 14 now!
    Congrats!

  4. Oh, Lovely news!

    And I love the that you have been blogging your feelings and such even if you weren’t posting. It will be a great way for you to keep a pregnancy journal…and you’ll look back ten years from now and remember when. We never told anyone right away…Two of my kids I kept quiet about until I was almost 5 months pregnant, but I always had a journal of some sort. Not that I know where those journals are now…but I have them and that is the important thing, right?

Leave a Reply

