Countdown to 30: What I’ve Learned

Standard

This one’ll be brief as Piet and I just got back from a late dinner and I’m pretty tired. Actually I’m pretty much always tired lately, but I was good about writing my posts early in the day until today.

By this stage of the game I think there are a few things I can unequivocally say that I’ve learned from life so far. I’d share them with my kid, but if he’s like every other kid, he’ll ignore me until his own 30th birthday, so for now, I’ll just say them here.

  1. Don’t be afraid to take chances in life. They may work out in your favor, they may not, but it’s always better to know you took the chance than to spend the rest of your life wondering “what if.”
  2. Don’t change the essential you to please someone else. The people who are most important to your life will love you for who you are, not for who you become in order to please them.
    a. Don’t confuse this with admitting to your faults and trying to better yourself. Everyone has negative aspects to themselves. Acknowledge them. do your best to modify what you can. But the important thing is to do this for yourself, not for anyone else.
  3. Despite what some people may say, failure is actually an option. In fact, it’s an inevitability. Sometimes failure will make you a stronger person than success. I think this is one of the hardest lessons to learn in life, but it’s a lesson everyone should, indeed, learn.
  4. Do not be afraid to ask for help. This applies to such a broad spectrum of topics under the header of “life” but I think overall it can be applied almost anywhere. If you’re in trouble, swallow your fear or pride or whatever it is that may be causing you to hesitate, and ask for help. Asking for help is not a show of weakness. Believe it or not, it takes a lot of strength to now when you really can’t do something on your own.
  5. Love does not conquer all. But love is something beautiful that, when it is true and real, is worth giving your all for. Love isn’t easy, but that’s part of what makes it so very worth it in the end.

It’s not a very long list, I know, but it’s things that I’ve learned time and time again that continuously apply throughout the years. If you all have any good ones to share, feel free to leave them in the comment section. Eventually I plan to write these in the journal I’m keeping for our son.

2 responses »

  1. You have no idea how happy I am to read these….you will find how incredibly hard BUT incredibly rewarding it is to be a parent and to try to help knowing that your progeny JUST WON’T LISTEN cause they know better…sigh…you hope with all your heart that your children will learn these very lessons….(lump in throat)…I guess we did OK after all!

Leave a Reply

