This is How You Remind Me

Standard

I have a highly associative mind.

Songs take me back to very specific times in my past, smells can strongly effect my emotions, colors and images often become enmeshed with people and places in my life.

Point being, there are strong currents of symbology symbolism running through both my conscious and unconscious memories, emotions and perceptions.

I find myself constantly thinking of and attracted to stars when it comes to my son. Any time I see a blanket, onesie, toy etc. with stars I want to buy it for him because when I think of stars, I think of my baby. When we finally have a house with a room to decorate just for him, I plan on theming it with stars. I’m not sure how this association was made, aside from that we bought him a little fleece blanket at Target when he was 2 months old and I constantly used it to swaddle him and draped it over his crib. We still have it around although it’s small now for him so it’s mostly just for decoration, but I still love it and how much it makes me think of Tay.

When I think of my husband, or more specifically, our relationship, I think of the color purple. I was blogging under the name Lilacspecs right when we began talking to each other and so he often got me cards with purple flowers on them and the first jewelry he ever bought me was amethyst because he knew I liked purple.

For myself I’ve taken to thinking of butterflies, for several reasons although most of them probably come out sounding a bit melodramatic so I hesitate to list them, but I do associate with the way butterflies never sit still very long on one spot and also how they begin as one thing and emerge as another. Also I find myself attracted to symmetry and find the shape of butterflies visually pleasing, especially in combination with the different colors and patterns on their wings. I also associate myself with the color green.

Anyway, those are just some examples, and I was trying to figure out a way of jamming this all into a tattoo I plan on getting for my birthday. It was impossible to do it in a tasteful way, so I’m going to go back to what I was originally planning for the tattoo. But in the meantime, I was looking around a department store today and spotted a silver bracelet and three charms: a butterfly, a star and a small purple bead wrapped in silver wire.

I don’t know about you, but when I get access to my debit card again, I think a new bracelet might sound like a pretty good idea.
I just have to convince my husband to let me buy something shiny for no particular reason.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t think you need a reason to buy yourself a little gifty and if that bracelet isn’t screaming your name, I don’t know what is! (I’m happy that the little celestial theme I had set up for the visit was in the right vein!) ;-P

Leave a Reply

